General Voting Information
To be eligible to vote in Virginia, a person:
- Must be a citizen of the United States.
- Must live in the state of Virginia - A person who has come to Virginia for temporary purposes and intends to return to another state is not considered a resident for voting purposes.
- Must be at least 18 years old by the date of the next general election.
- Must not claim the right to vote elsewhere.
- Must not have been convicted of a felony or judged by a court to be mentally incompetent, unless the right to vote has been restored by the Governor or a court order has re-established competence.
How to Register
Individuals can apply for voter registration or update their voter registration data by mail, using an appropriate state form, at the Division of Motor Vehicles, or in person at a public agency while applying for services.
Registration continues to be available at any voter registrar's office in Virginia and all Hampton Public Libraries.
All voting precincts are open on Election Day from 6 a.m. until 7 p.m.Anyone in line at 7 p.m. in the polling place will be allowed to cast their ballot.
Deadline to Register
For a general or primary election, the deadline to register is 21 days before the election. For a special election held at a time other than a general election, the deadline is 13 days before the election. You can download an application online (PDF).
Where to Vote
After you register, a voter ID card will be mailed with the name and address of your precinct, or a denial letter will be mailed to any applicant determined not to be eligible. Any applicant who does not receive either a voter ID card or denial notice by the registration deadline should contact their registrar.
To view the latest voter ID requirements, please visit the Virigina Elections website
To be eligible to vote absentee in Virginia a person must expect to be absent on Election Day or will be unable to go to the polls because you are:
- A student, or spouse of a student away at school.
- Out of town on business, personal business, or vacation.
- Suffering from a physical or mental disability or illness.
- Caretaker of a confined family member.
- Confined awaiting trial or convicted of a misdemeanor and confined.
- An active duty member of the military or a spouse/dependent residing with said member.
- Employed in a business, profession or occupation outside the U.S. or spouse/dependent residing with said person.
- Working at least 11 hours between 6:00 AM and 7:00 PM.
The absentee ballot application must be received in the Registrar's office seven days before Election Day to receive a ballot by mail.
Absentee voting in person begins approximately 45 days before a November General Election and approximately 30 days before other elections and ends at 5:00 p.m. on the Saturday before the election. Download an absentee ballot (PDF).