Do I Qualify?
- U.S. Citizenship (Police only)
- At least 21 years of age (Police only)
- At least 18 years of age (Non-Police positions)
- High School graduate or possess a GED
- Ability to possess a valid Virginia Driver's License
- Must be of good moral character with no felony, domestic violence convictions, or convictions involving "moral turpitude"
- Credit report, driving record, criminal history, and drug use will be assessed
- Must successfully pass each stage of the selection process
The following is a list of disqualifiers to be used as a guideline for consideration of applicants for entry-level Police and civilian positions during the selection process within the Hampton Police Division. Applicants shall be rejected for employment due to any of the following conditions:
- Dishonorable, Bad Conduct, Misconduct, to include Less Than Honorable Discharge, from military service.
- Conviction of any felony.
- Conviction of any "misdemeanor of domestic violence" as defined by the Federal Gun Control Act.
- Conviction or participation in any offense involving crimes of moral turpitude (i.e., larceny, embezzlement, perjury, etc.) assault or sexual offenses
- Illegal possession of, or any illegal act involving any narcotic, controlled substance, or any dangerous drug as defined by Federal and/or State law within the last five (5) years. In instances where the applicant met the above-listed parameters between the last five (5) and ten (10) years; then the Chief of Police will be consulted and make the final recommendation.
- Any illegal drug use, including marijuana, while holding a position in the military, police, armed security, or like profession.
- Employment background indicates that the applicant's previous work performance or conduct is unacceptable.
- Sworn Positions - applicants driving record is determined unacceptable, if worse than (-4) Drivers Point Balance (Virginia or equivalent), reckless driving conviction within three (3) years of application, DUI conviction within five (5) years, or if moving violations are viewed incompatible with Division standards, i.e., numerous speeding or improper driving convictions. Any sworn applicant with a driver’s license must adhere to the guidelines above.
- Non-Sworn Positions - applicants driving record is determined unacceptable, if worse than (-4) Drivers Point Balance (Virginia or equivalent), reckless driving conviction within one (1) year of application, DUI conviction within five (5) years, or if moving violations are viewed incompatible with Division standards, i.e., numerous speeding or improper driving convictions. Any non-sworn applicant with a driver’s license must adhere to the guidelines above however, those positions which do not require a license for employment are not required to obtain a license.
- Substantiated omission or misrepresentation of information on any application or employment form to include deception discovered during any phase of the selection process, i.e., personal interview, polygraph test, etc.
- Failure to successfully pass each phase of the selection process, or attend any phase of hiring: (as applicable to the position)
- The requirements for the Physical Agility Test.
- The requirements for the Police Officer Selection Test or Skills-Based Performance Test as required for the position.
- A city-paid Psychological Fitness examination and interview.
- A city-paid Physical/Medical examination.