HomePrintEmailRSS

Go To Search
LivingPlayingDoing BusinessGovernmentHow Do I
Click to Home
Tax Rates
Tax on Privately Owned Vehicles
Personal property tax assessments are based on the January 1 value. Taxes are due June 5 and December 5. NADA stands for the National Automobile Dealers Association.

Property Type
Assessment Method
Tax Rate Per $100
Passenger Cars
N.A.D.A Ave. Loan
4.25
Pick-up Trucks and Vans
N.A.D.A Ave. Loan
4.25
Motorcycles
CLYMER Blue Book, Low Trade
4.25
Boat & Utility Trailers
Based on percentage of cost
4.25
Camping and Travel Trailers
N.A.D.A. Recreational Guide
.000001
Motor Homes
N.A.D.A. Recreational Guide
.000001
Modified Vehicles for Handicapped
N.A.D.A Ave. Loan
.000001
Disabled Veteran
N.A.D.A Ave. Loan (1 qualifying vehicle)
.000001

Personal Property Tax Relief Act Compliance Program
The Personal Property Tax Relief Act of 1998 provides tax relief for passenger cars, motorcycles and pickup or panel trucks having a registered gross weight of less than 7,501 pounds. To qualify, a vehicle must be owned by an individual or leased by an individual under a contract requiring the individual to pay the personal property taxes and be used 50% or less for business purposes. Motor homes, trailers and farm use vehicles do not qualify for tax relief.

Tax on Business Owned Vehicles
Personal property tax assessments are based on the January 1 value. Taxes are due June 5 and December 5.
Property Type
Assessment Method
Tax Rate Per $100
Passenger Cars
NADA average loan
4.25
Trucks and Vans
NADA average loan or percentage of original cost
4.25
Trailers
Based on percentage of cost
4.25

Tax on Boats & Personal Watercraft
Boats are assessed at fair market value, generally derived by applying a percentage to the total original cost. The tax rate for privately owned pleasure boats and watercraft used for recreational purposes is $.000001 per $100 of assessed value. The tax rate for all other boats and watercraft is $1 per $100 of assessed value. Register your boat with the commissioner’s office.

Questions
For questions concerning the registration of boats with the Commonwealth of Virginia contact Virginia Game and Inland Fisheries at 1 (877) 898-2628. For questions concerning the federal documentation of vessels contact the U.S. Coast Guard at 1 (800) 799-8362.

Tax on Mobile Homes
Assessments are based on area (length times width) and the year of manufacture as derived from the Virginia Manufactured Housing Appraisal Guide published by Wingate Appraisal Service. The current tax rate for Mobile Homes is $1.04 per $100.

Tax on Recreational Vehicles
Recreational vehicles include motor homes, travel trailers and camping trailers. Assessments are made from the NADA Recreational Vehicle Guide. In the event that a particular item is not listed in the NADA book a percentage of the purchase price will be used. The tax rate for recreational vehicles is $0.000001 per $100. Email us for more information on taxation of recreational vehicles